Signs of summer

It feels like it’s been summer for a long time already but I think that’s just because I started wearing flip-flops as soon as the snow melted.  I am grateful though that summer is really just starting in some ways.  The heat and humidity – although daunting at times – have been welcome guests in my life considering that, 6+ months out of the year, I long for the South Florida weather I miss so much.  Along with the sunshine, heat, and humidity has come a lot of rain and weird weather for us in Michigan.  There have been many days of constantly changing weather with rolling thunderstorms ripping through then suddenly clearing up.  Strangely, a lot like Florida!

In my house, I think that the strange summer weather has affected Anya the most.  While everyone here – dogs and cats alike – shed on a nearly constant basis, she has been going through an extended “molting” as I call it and it seems to be taking her undercoat forever to shed.  I bathed and brushed her on Wednesday and took off enough fur to create a small pillow.  Her poor skin is itchy and flaky from the extended shedding process and she just has this bewildered look on her face when I brush her and remove so much of ‘her’ from herself.  Thankfully, I think the bath – with prescription shampoo – helped move us along in the process and she seems to be a bit more comfortable in her own skin.

Anya with her kitties.Here she is post-bath, looking like a fluffy beast in need of brushing (which happened a little later), relaxing in the sunshine with Lucy and Zoey.  Of course Zoey has the optimal sunshine spot closest to the door!

What I wasn’t prepared for this summer was the intensity of my own bubbling desire for change.  I have said it before and will say it again, if it were not for my animals (and, now, my husband) I would just get lost in finding myself.  I would probably travel the country in my car with all of my worldly possessions in the trunk.  I feel this urge every so often and, this summer, even more so.  I desire freedom and exploration and new experiences.  I struggle through these feelings too as I explore my professional ambitions and try to figure out what I am supposed to “be when I grow up” and what I should be doing with my life.  I often joke that I am going through a mid-life crisis more than a decade early.  But, I keep on keeping on and hold on tight to the loves of my life as I try to simply enjoy the wonder of the world around me…and the signs and beauty of summer.  Even if it means that tumble weeds of fur roll around my house.  This is, after all, my favorite time of year.

3 thoughts on “Signs of summer

    • They are a sight. Equally mortifying (especially if other people notice them! ) and fascinating. I am often left stumped because I find them just after I’ve spent hours cleaning!

Leave a Reply

