The feline loo

We hadn’t even closed on our house (earlier this year) and I knew exactly how I wanted to set-up the room for my babies.  One of the key must-haves was a litter closet with easy access for the cats and for cleaning.  Most importantly, I wanted to keep the litter boxes out of sight and the dogs out of the litter boxes!  Rather than cutting into the hollow closet doors that were here, Kyle and I bought vented doors from Home Depot (or Lowe’s, I can’t remember) and he cut a rectangular opening at the bottom of one panel as an entry point.  At first, I think, he thought I was nuts but I insisted it would work.  I enhanced the closet with a little hook-and-eye latch to keep the doors together when the dogs try to stick their heads in the closet.  Amazing the power of a $1 latch!

While doing some searches on Pinterest recently, I learned that I was not the first person to come up with idea although I am still quite proud of it.  (I don’t know anyone in my circle of friends/family to have a litter closet in their home.)  It really is a good idea if you can spare the closet and it looks a whole heck of a lot better than two litter boxes.  Plus, I think the cats like the secure privacy.

In the coming days, we’ll be testing our great ‘invention’ again: with a puppy!  The puppy, Rosie, is friend’s dog that we’re watching for the week.  She’s smaller than Lily, our cat, and I am hoping she won’t have any interest in climbing into the closet.  Kyle and I haven’t had a puppy in our life since we adopted Anya when she was 7 months old.  Rosie is about 15 weeks old.  Fun times ahead!

4 thoughts on “The feline loo

    • Yes – great question – Lucy and Lily use the entry point all the time! We introduced them to the new entry by setting them each down in front of it and they immediately, one by one, went in and looked around then came out as if it didn’t even phase them. We have two litter boxes in the closet; one is enclosed and the other is a larger, standard type litter box. They use them both and everything is contained securely behind the doors!

  1. Pingback: The cat litter challenge | The life and times of Zoey.

Leave a Reply

