My favorite things

Sometimes I feel like the ultimate consumer of pet products.  With five pets, I know, without a doubt, that I am a key player in the nearly $53 billion/year industry.  (I don’t want to add up the receipts for fear that I might pass out.)

Over the last ten years, I’ve tried hundreds of pet-related products in my home.  When I find something that works, I stick with it and then try to find the best deal on it as possible.  Here’s a list of my – our – eight favorites with a little explanation as to why they make the short list.  The links, in some cases, take you directly to where I order from.

1. Pooch Pants by Pooch Pads

I just couldn’t live without Pooch Pants.  When I put Zoey in a pair, I know that she and our floors are protected should she experience any urinary incontinence.

2. Nature’s Miracle pet stain and odor remover

Bar none, the best product like this that I have found.  I have used Nature’s Miracle for cleaning up urine, vomit, and diarrhea on carpet, upholstery, and other fabrics.  The trick is to let it soak in for a moment then use an absorbent towel to soak up the stain.  Reapply and re-soak as needed.  I am amazed at how well it works.  If you have pets, this is a must-have.

3. Fresh Step scoopable (clumping) cat litter

It is the only cat litter I have found that truly eliminates litter box odors.  I scoop our two boxes once daily and like that the urine clumps and is easy to scoop out.  My only gripes: the dust from the clay itself and the tiny granules of litter that seem to end up everywhere within a 10-foot radius of the litter boxes.  I am always on a quest for the perfect cat litter so I will keep you posted if I find something that works even better.

4. Jaws Poop Scoop

We prefer this scooper over a traditional shovel when cleaning up after the dogs in the yard.  It’s so easy to use…minimal bending, little to no mess, and you can just hose it off if it gets gross.  They don’t last forever because they are made out relatively cheap plastic so we end up buying a new one every other year or so.  But, they are well worth the $30 investment especially since my husband will scoop the dog poop as long as we have one of these!

5. Heartgard Plus heartworm prevention for dogs

Having worked in animal shelters and veterinary hospitals, I can tell you that it’s just imperative to have your pet on year-round heartworm disease prevention.  I prefer Heartgard chewables for my dogs because they take the monthly pill like a treat.  I set-up a reminder in my calendar on my phone and use the little heart stickers on my calendar to remind me of when Anya and Chewy are due and they are protected year-round.  Note: heartworm prevention requires a prescription from your veterinarian and an annual blood test.

6. Revolution heartworm and flea prevention for cats

Revolution is a non-greasy topical product that protects cats from heartworm disease, fleas, and several other parasites.  Easy to use and covers all the basics!  Even indoor kitties need to be protected – there is no treatment for heartworm disease in cats so it’s best to prevent.

7. Laxatone hairball eliminator for cats

Hairballs are an annoying part of life for many cat parents.  Lily has been plagued by hairballs most of her adult life – and one hairball involved throwing up several times in multiple locations – until I began using Laxatone.  I give her a little bit (the tube provides dosage instructions) with her food three times a week and, since I have been using Laxatone, she has been hairball – and vomit! – free!  I can tell it’s working because I sometimes see fur/hair in her feces in the litter box.  Laxatone has improved her life – and mine! – dramatically.

8. Bison brand collars/leashes

Chewy has had the same collar (in “Rasta”) for twelve years.  Anya has had hers (in “Happy Hawaiian”) for over two years now.  Made in the USA, these collars and leashes are sturdy and nice to look at.  To clean: every once in awhile I throw them in the washer and let them air dry.

3 thoughts on “My favorite things

  1. I love the Pooch Pad diapers too. Sometimes they don’t hold enough and I wish they were a little more absorbent, but in general, i think they are great. I am going to try the Natures Miracle. I need something like that.

    • I always keep a spray bottle of Nature’s Miracle as well as a regular bottle of it around. The spray bottle is great for little messes and spritzing on the diapers before washing. The bigger bottle allows me to soak a larger mess. I’ll be curious to hear what you think of it – it’s a must-have in my life.

  2. Pingback: Poop problems | The life and times of Zoey.

Leave a Reply

